Joint press release: strengthening cooperation on nuclear energy between European Member States

On the occasion of the Energy Ministers’ informal Council in Stockholm, the Ministers and high-level representatives of 11 Member-States* met this morning with the Commission and the Presidency to reassert jointly their will to strengthen European cooperation in the field of nuclear energy. In keeping with the Euratom Treaty objectives, promoting research and disseminating technical information, setting uniform safety standards in line with the best international practices, and reinforcing industrial cooperation in the development of European nuclear power capacities are important objectives of common energy policy.

The Ministers agreed to foster closer cooperation between their national nuclear sectors to ensure the best cooperation across supply chains and explore joint training programs and industrial projects, in order to support new projects, including those based on innovative technology, as well as the exploitation of existing power plants. They also discussed the possibilities for further scientific cooperation and coordinated deployment of best practices in the field of safety.

Nuclear energy is one of many tools for achieving our climate targets, as a baseload power generation, and for the security of supply.

*Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Hungary, Finland, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia.